Château de Malmaison

Château de Malmaison

Le Château de Malmaison : the home of Joséphine Bonaparte.

Built in the 17th century, Le Château de Malmaison was acquired in 1799 by Josephine and Napoleon Bonaparte who have it completely refurbished by the architects Percier and Fontaine. Very appreciated by the First Consul, the residence becomes between 1800 and 1802, with the palace of the Tuileries, one of the places of France's government. Today Le Château de Malmaison forms one of the rare examples of the Consular style preserved in France and fascinates by the character of authenticity that it has preserved. The visitor also discovers the intimate atmosphere of the apartments of the Empress Josephine, her collections of paintings, and in the landscaped park the passion of the Empress for botany.

Rates

Individuals : 6.5 euros / person

Groups : 5.5 euros / person (on reservation).

Timetables

Open every day except Tuesday :
- from 1 October to 31 March : 10 am to 12.30 pm and 1:30 pm to 5:15 pm, until 5:45 pm on weekends
- from 1 April to 30 September : 10 am to 12.30 pm and 1:30 pm to 5:45 pm, until 6:15 pm on weekends
Last access 45 min before closing time.

Closing

Map

Themes

Cultural and Artistic
Religion and History

Labels

Remarkable garden
Monument
Museum of France

Place

Avenue du Château de la Malmaison
92500
Rueil-Malmaison
Hauts-de-Seine
Ile-de-France
Latitude: 48.873
Longitude: 2.16906

Info +

Duration : 
between 1 and 2 hours

Conveniences

Access to the disabled
Toilets
Guided tour
Spoken languages  
English
Spanish
French
Means of payment  
CB
Cheque
Cash
Tansfer